Skip to content
The Chicago Guidebookthechicagoguidebook.com

One of the four

Seadog Chicago: the Only Cruise That Leaves the River, and the Only Price That Includes the Fees

Three of Chicago's architecture cruises stay on the river. This one goes through the lock and out on to Lake Michigan, it is the only one that says the fees are already in the price, and it is a speedboat with a list of people it tells not to board.

From $42fees and taxes included
2 hfree cancellation window
1 of 4goes on to the lake
Dailythe only year-round one

Short answer

  • From $42, fees and taxes included. It is the only one of the four that says so, which makes it the only advertised price that will not grow at checkout.
  • The only one that goes through the locks on to Lake Michigan. The other three stay on the river.
  • The most generous cancellation of the four: free cancellation with ticket assurance up to 2 hours in advance.
  • It allows BYOB and dogs, and tells people with neck or back conditions and pregnant travellers not to board.
  • Its page was last modified in February 2025, which is nineteen months before we read it. Treat the price accordingly.

01The short version

Take Seadog if you want to go out on the lake, or if your plans might change. Those are its two real advantages and neither is the price. It is the only one of the four that leaves the river, and the only one that lets you cancel two hours out and keep your money.

Do not take it as a cheaper version of an architecture tour. It is a speedboat with a lake section, it does not say who narrates, and it is the only one of the four that publishes a health warning. Different product.

02The only price that will not move

Of everything we checked across the four operators, this is the line with the most money in it and the least attention paid to it. Seadog's page says "fees and taxes included in price".

Nobody else does. The Chicago Architecture Center sells through Ticketmaster, where fees and surcharges are added on top of its $57. Wendella and Shoreline say nothing either way.

What the advertised number actually represents

OperatorAdvertisedFeesPer minute
City CruisesFrom $42, fees and taxes includedStated as included$0.56
Shoreline Sightseeing$39 for 60 minutes, $46 for 75Not stated$0.65
Wendella Boats$45Not stated$0.50
Chicago Architecture Center$57Added on top, via Ticketmaster$0.63
Swipe to see more

Read from each operator's own page on 1 October 2026. Per-minute figures are ours, from the cheapest advertised adult ticket divided by the duration it buys. This is the reason we will not publish a single ranked price list: three of these four numbers are floors and one is a total, and ranking them together compares different things.

This is why the advertised prices of these four cruises are not comparable with each other, which is the finding the comparison page is built on. The nominal gap between Seadog at $42 and the Center at $57 is fifteen dollars. The real one is fifteen plus whatever Ticketmaster adds, and we have not measured that because it means completing a purchase.

03Through the locks, which nobody else does

The operator's own words: "the only tour to take you from the lakefront, through the locks, and along the Chicago River all the way to the famous Willis Tower". We checked the other three and none of them claims to leave the river, so the "only" holds among these four.

That is a genuinely different trip. The Chicago Lock is the boundary between the river and Lake Michigan, and passing through it is a thing that happens to you rather than a building someone points at. Whether you prefer that to thirty more minutes of architecture is a question about what kind of afternoon you want, not about which is better.

What you give up for it: 75 minutes against 90 on Wendella, and a stated guide. Seadog is the one operator of the four that does not describe who is narrating or what training they have.

04Who it is not for

Seadog is the only one of the four that publishes restrictions beyond the age of the passengers, and they are worth reading before booking for a group.

What the operator states about who should board

What it says
HealthNot recommended for guests with conditions to the neck or back, or who may be pregnant
ChildrenChildren under 12 must be accompanied by an adult
DogsDogs welcomed
DrinkBYOB, with no glass containers allowed
DressCasual attire
Swipe to see more

Read from cityexperiences.com on 1 October 2026. The highlighted row is the one the other three operators do not publish at all, which is itself informative: a sedate river boat does not need it.

We have not been on it, so we cannot tell you how hard the lake portion actually is. What we can tell you is that this operator thought the warning was worth printing and the other three did not, and that is a reasonable thing to weigh if you are booking for someone with a bad back.

05Book it, or one of the other three

The Seadog speedboat out on Lake Michigan with the Chicago skyline behind.

The one that leaves the river

Seadog architecture cruise, river and Lake Michigan

4.47 · 302 reviews

The reason to pick this over the other three is the lock and the lake, not the price. 4.47 from 302 reviews, which is the thinnest evidence of the four cruises in our catalogue by a wide margin: Shoreline has 17,028 and Wendella 10,999. The score is also the lowest of the four. It is a real product with a real differentiator and we would rather say that plainly than bury it.

$41.65 from

Free cancellation 24h before here, and 2 hours before booking direct.

Check dates and price

For the narration, the Chicago Architecture Center. For the most minutes per dollar, Wendella. For the cheapest ticket, Shoreline. All four side by side is in which architecture cruise to book.

06A caveat about this page's own data

The page we read this from was last modified on 5 February 2025. That is nineteen months before we read it on 1 October 2026. For comparison, Shoreline had touched its tour page three days earlier.

We publish the date we read every figure for exactly this reason, and here the source's own age is worth adding to it. A price on a page nobody has edited since February 2025 is more likely to have drifted than one edited last week. The $42 is what the operator publishes today; whether it is what the operator charges today is a slightly different question, and the honest answer is that we checked the page and not the till.

07Questions people actually ask

How much is the Seadog Chicago tour?

From $42, and it is the only one of the four that states fees and taxes are included in that figure. Read from cityexperiences.com on 1 October 2026. That matters when comparing: the Chicago Architecture Center's $57 is sold through Ticketmaster, where fees and surcharges are added on top, so the real gap between the two is wider than $15.

Does the Seadog go on to Lake Michigan?

Yes, and it is the only one of the four that does. Its own description: "the only tour to take you from the lakefront, through the locks, and along the Chicago River all the way to the famous Willis Tower". The other three stay on the river. If the lock is the thing you want to see, there is no choice to make.

Is Seadog an architecture tour or a speedboat ride?

Both, and the operator is clear that there is a speedboat portion on the lake. That makes it a different product from the other three rather than a cheaper version of them. It is also the one that does not describe who narrates: the Chicago Architecture Center names trained docents, Wendella a local guide and Shoreline live guides, while this page says narrated and stops there.

Can you cancel a Seadog booking?

Yes, and it has the most generous terms of the four: "Free Cancellation with Ticket Assurance Up to 2 hours in advance." Against that, the Chicago Architecture Center states refunds and exchanges are not permitted at all, Wendella's restriction attaches after the departure time, and Shoreline publishes nothing. If your plans are uncertain, this is the one that costs you least to change.

Can you bring a dog on the Seadog?

Its page says dogs are welcomed, which is unusual on this river, and it also allows BYOB with no glass containers. No other operator of the four states either.

Who should not take the Seadog?

The operator says the ride is not recommended for guests with neck or back conditions, or who may be pregnant, and that children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult. We have not ridden it, so we cannot tell you how rough the lake portion is. We can tell you the operator thought the warning was worth printing, which the other three did not.

Where does the Seadog leave from?

600 East Grand Avenue, at Navy Pier, opposite the Chicago Shakespeare Theater. That puts it about a kilometre and a half east of the other three, which cluster around the Michigan Avenue bridge. If you are staying downtown and walking, the others are closer; if you are already at Navy Pier, this and one of Shoreline's two docks are the only ones there.

Diego Fresno on a bridge over the Chicago River, looking towards Marina City and the Loop.Diego Fresno
Wrote and checked this page

I have not taken the Seadog. I took one architecture cruise in Chicago in July 2025 and cannot identify which company from my own footage, and in any case it was a river boat rather than a speedboat. So this page does not tell you what the lake section feels like. What it does is read the operator's own page against the other three on the same morning, which is where the fees line and the health warning came from, and flag that the page itself has not been edited since February 2025.

Price, fee statement, duration, frequency, dock, route claim, cancellation terms, health and pet restrictions and the dress code read from cityexperiences.com on 1 October 2026; that page records a modification date of 5 February 2025. Comparisons with the other three from architecture.org and its River Cruise FAQ, wendellaboats.com and shorelinesightseeing.com, read the same morning. Per-minute figures are ours. NOT verified and therefore absent: what the lake portion is like, since nobody here has ridden it; the checkout total for any of the four; and whether the $42 is still current, given the age of the page it is published on.

Affiliate disclosureWe earn a small commission if you book through some links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Every price here is read from the operator's own page, not from whoever pays best. See how we verify.
Find tours